

1255 Old Derry Road, Mississauga, ON L5N 6R4 T. 905-670-1615 | cvc@creditvalleyca.ca

CTC Source Protection Region Credit Valley Source Protection Authority

Town of Orangeville **Attention: Karen Landry, Town Clerk** 87 Broadway Ave. Orangeville, ON L9W 1K1 Email: <u>klandry@orangeville.ca</u>

#### RE: Request Joint Nomination of One Representative to the CTC Source Protection Committee Due by 4:30 P.M. Monday, August 16, 2021

A Source Protection Committee was formed in 2007 to oversee development and implementation of a Source Protection Plan for the Credit Valley, Toronto and Region, and Central Lake Ontario (CTC) Source Protection Region. The committee has representation from municipalities, businesses, and the public. The terms and conditions of appointments are described in <u>Ontario Regulation 288/07</u> under the *Clean Water Act, 2006* (Act). Members of the CTC Source Protection Committee are appointed by the Credit Valley Source Protection Authority (SPA), as the lead SPA for the CTC Region.

Chris Gerrits has ably served as your municipal group representative on the CTC Source Protection Committee since 2016. However, on September 23, 2021, Mr. Gerrits's five-year term will expire. **To ensure continuity of representation, the Towns of Orangeville and Mono, Dufferin and Simcoe Counties, and the Townships of East Garafraxa, Amaranth, and Adjala-Tosorontio are requested to jointly nominate an elected official, staff member, or citizen representative that complies with the eligibility requirements as listed in Attachment 1**. Note that under the Act reappointments are allowed, as there are no term limits for committee members. The rules of procedure of the Committee are available for review at <u>ctcswp.ca</u>.

**Council resolutions are not required to accompany the nomination, but all municipalities must confirm that they agree with the nominated candidate.** It is suggested that municipalities meet to discuss and make decisions with respect to their preferred representative. Our program manager, Janet Ivey, is available to attend meetings as a resource.

The term of this municipal member will be five (5) years from the date of appointment. The time commitment for committee members varies with annual work plans. As we are now implementing and updating the CTC Source Protection Plan, we anticipate the need for three to six half-day committee meetings per calendar year with periodic communications inbetween. Members are provided with a per diem of \$200 and mileage as set through provincial guidelines and Credit Valley Conservation policies.



1255 Old Derry Road, Mississauga, ON L5N 6R4 T. 905-670-1615 | cvc@creditvalleyca.ca

Please jointly submit the name or employment position of the person to represent your municipal group **by Monday, August 16, 2021** to the attention of the program manager for the CTC Source Protection Region:

Janet Ivey Chief Specialist, Watershed Plans and Source Water Protection Credit Valley Conservation Email: <u>Janet.Ivey@cvc.ca</u> Via mail or courier to: 1255 Old Derry Road, Mississauga, ON, L5N 6R4 OR Via fax to: 905-670-2210

Communications sent via mail, courier or fax should be copied to <u>Janet.Ivey@cvc.ca</u> to ensure timely response as the administration offices of Credit Valley Conservation remain closed to the public and many staff due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Should you wish further information on the nomination of members and their duties, please contact Craig Jacques via email at <u>craig.jacques@cvc.ca</u> or at 647-929-6078.

Thank you for your municipality's efforts as we jointly work to protect our sources of drinking water.

Sincerely,

Debouch Mart Dr

Deborah Martin-Downs Chief Administrative Officer Credit Valley Source Protection Authority

cc. Janet Ivey, Program Manager, CTC Source Protection Region Doug Jones, Director of Infrastructure Services, Town of Orangeville Irena Kontrec, Risk Management Inspector, Town of Orangeville Chris Gerrits, Deputy Mayor, Township of Amaranth

## **ATTACHMENT 1: Source Protection Committee Membership Eligibility**

# ATTACHMENT 1:



### SOURCE PROTECTION COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

## SPC MEMBER SKILLS AND QUALIFICATIONS

- Hold relevant knowledge of the applicable watersheds, communities, and local issues;
- Demonstrated ability to understand source protection planning related science, concepts and technical reports;
- Proven ability to act as liaison to bring forward common concerns from their knowledge and experience in the municipal sector to the Committee and assist in communicating the Committee's work to municipal councils and staff;
- Solid problem-solving, analytical, communication and organizational skills;
- Demonstrated ability to work with group dynamics and team environments;
- Willingness and ability to travel within the CTC Source Protection Region for public consultation meetings and information sessions;
- Has, or is capable of having direct contact with residents and landowners; and
- Provide constructive, collaborative, and science-based input on local source protection planning issues.

#### SPC MEMBER ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

- Reside in, own or rent property within the CTC Source Protection Region; or
- Be employed or operate a business within the CTC Source Protection Region; or
- Be employed by a municipality that is in the CTC Source Protection Region; and
- Not be a member or employee of Credit Valley Conservation, Toronto and Region Conservation Authority, or Central Lake Ontario Conservation Authority.

#### **REGULATORY CONDITIONS OF APPOINTMENT**

- The appointee must regularly attend meetings of the source protection committee.
- The appointee must comply with the source protection committee's Code of Conduct and Conflict of Interest policy, as well as the Rules of Procedure.