

January 15, 2021

Honourable Jeff Yurek Ministry of the Environment, Conservation & Parks 777 Bay St., 5th Floor Toronto ON M7A 2J3

Honourable Yurek,

At its meeting held on January 15, 2021, Dufferin County Council passed the following resolution regarding the Conservation Authorities Working Group:

WHEREAS the Province of Ontario made changes to the Conservation Authorities Act via the passage of Bill 228 in December 2020;

AND WHEREAS the Province announced in December 2020 that they would form a Conservation Authority Working Group to "make sure conservation authorities and other stakeholder groups have a stronger voice at the table when it comes to implementing recent changes to the Conservation Authorities Act";

AND WHEREAS the recently announced the appointments to the Conservation Authority Working Group which is comprised of 2/3rd conservation authority representatives and a single municipal representative;

AND WHEREAS municipalities are the major sources of funding for Conservation Authorities in the Province and are greatly affected by decisions of recommendations coming out of the work of the Conservation Authority Working Group;

BE IT RESOLVED THAT County Council request that the Province reassess the composition of the Conservation Authority Working Group to allow for equal representation from municipalities and conservation authorities;

AND THAT this motion be forwarded to AMO for circulation to all municipalities in Ontario, the Honourable Minister Yurek and the Chair of the Conservation Authority Working Group.



Regards,

Michelle Dunne Clerk

cc Hassan Basit, Chair, Conservation Authorities Working Group Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) Dufferin County Municipalities

dufferincounty.ca